Young, Donnelly lead bipartisan coalition to honor American Legion 100th anniversary
Thursday, 18 May 2017 21:26

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senators Todd Young and Joe Donnelly of Indiana led a bipartisan group of Senators in honoring the 100th anniversary of the American Legion by introducing legislation to create a variety of commemorative coins.

The special, limited edition commemorative coins would be available for purchase starting in 2019, marking the centennial of the organization which was originally chartered by Congress in September of 1919.

The Legion has been instrumental in providing support, programs, and advocacy for the nation’s veterans, including influential work to help secure the passage of the G.I. Bill.

Proceeds from the sale of the commemorative coins will go toward supporting American Legion programs and efforts to continue their invaluable work on behalf of the nation’s veterans and their families.

 A companion version of this legislation is being introduced in the House of Representatives under the leadership of Representatives Tim Walz and Phil Roe.

Senator Donnelly said, “This commemorative coin will honor the 100th anniversary of the founding of the American Legion and their good works for generations to come. I’m proud to join with Senator Young on this effort to highlight the Indianapolis-based American Legion, which does so much for our country’s veterans.”

“The American Legion’s long track record of successful advocacy speaks for itself,” Young said. “This commemorative coin will honor those achievements along with helping to continue advocacy work that improves the lives of veterans.”

 "The American Legion is honored that the Congress of the United States introduced legislation to commemorate The American Legion's century of selfless service and great fidelity to our Nation. Since 1919, The American Legion has been committed to defending the Constitution, remembering our fallen, and promoting American values. This coin will memorialize the legacy of millions of veterans across the generations. Thanks to Ranking Member Tim Walz, Chairman Phil Roe, Senator Todd Young and Senator Joe Donnelly for their leadership on this important issue."  -- Charles E. Schmidt, National Commander, American Legion


A full list of original cosponsors: Senators Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Tom Carper (D-DE), Angus King (I-ME), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Jerry Moran (R-KS), John Boozman (R-AR), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Gary Peters (D-MI), Patty Murray (D-WA), Lindsay Graham (R-SC), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Steve Daines (R-MT), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Mike Rounds (R-SD), and Johnny Isakson (R-GA).