Pulaski County Historical Society membership drive underway
Monday, 20 November 2017 00:55

The Pulaski County Historical Society welcomes new - and "re-newed" members as it launches its annual membership drive for 2018.

As 2017 draws to a close, many current or new members may prefer to pay their tax deductable memberships before the new year begins. Memberships also make thoughtful gifts for the holiday season.

The Historical Society relies on its membership to make the history of Pulaski County come alive today - and to preserve history for a better future.

In 2017 the Pulaski County Historical Society:

  • Received an Indiana Heritage Grant, and with the amazing support of Don and Dee Galbreath, have continued work on the new museum location, set to open in 2018.
  • Organized educational tours, programs and workshops, including a workshop in Medaryville on the preservation of source material.
  • Continued partnerships with local school systems (while the museum was closed for the year, preparing for the move) to engage and enlighten students on local history.
  • Entertained and enlightened the community during the annual meeting with a program that featured every Presidential Library in the United States.

Upcoming events and projects include "A Downtown Christmas Bazaar" at the Market Street storefront of the Opera House during Winter Wonderland on Dec. 2, along with a Holiday Basket silent auction next door at Opera House Floral. Renovations will continue at the new museum location in preparation for the move and opening later in 2018. Many volunteer opportunities will be available for this process. The Bluegrass Jams will resume on third Fridays beginning in January. And more educational tours, programs and workshops will be offered.


About the Pulaski County Historical Society

All interested persons are welcome to become members of the Pulaski County Historical Society. Annual memberships run through the calendar year (Jan. 1 through Dec. 31). Membership fees are $30 for individuals, $40 for families, and $80 for corporate sustaining.

PCHS also welcomes additional contributions. Any contribution made that equals or exceeds the applicable level of membership will include an annual membership.

Prospective members or renewing members may mail payment to P.O. Box 135, Winamac, IN 46996; OR go online to pay for membership or to make a contribution through PayPal: www.pulaskihistory.net.

The Pulaski County Historical Society board meets at 6 p.m., the third Thursday of each month, usually at the Vurpillat Opera House (north storefront), downtown Winamac. All interested persons are welcome to attend the meetings.

To learn more about the Historical Society, visit its website: www.pulaskihistory.net or find it on Facebook at www.facebook.com/PulaskiHistory.

Membership in the Pulaski County Historical Society helps support the work of the organization for the benefit of the community.

The PCHS board members are president Ryan Harrison, vice president Steve Morrison, secretary Janet Onken, treasurer Lin Morrison, curator Dr. Natalie Daily Federer, past president Kathi Thompson; and directors Karen McClung, Jolie Simmermaker, Mike, Shurn, Louise Gudas, Brian Capouch, Jane Rausch, RayeAnn Absher, Ryan Crawford and Becky Dilts. Pulaski County Historian Karen Fritz is an ex-officio member.


The Pulaski County Historical Society is a federally approved 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and qualifies for tax-deductible donations. Goods or services provided by this membership consist entirely of intangible benefits.